standard 3.4.11


2.0 Core Requirements
3.0 Comprehensive Standards
4.0 Federal Requirements



◄  Previous  ı   Reports   ı Next  ►


3.4.11     For each major in a degree program, the institution assigns responsibility for program coordination, as well as for curriculum development and review, to persons academically qualified in the field. In those degree programs for which the institution does not identify a major, this requirement applies to a curricular area or concentration. (Academic program coordination)

      Compliance             Partial          Non-Compliance


Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC) is in compliance with this comprehensive standard.  Department chairs and/or program coordinators are responsible for program coordination, curriculum development and delivery, program review, and assessment.


Fayetteville Technical Community College (FTCC)  offers Associate in Arts (AA), Associate in General Education (AGE), Associate in Fine Arts (AFA), Associate in Science (AS) and Associate in Applied Science (AAS) degrees.  The College’s curricula programs are divided into four divisions:  Business Programs; College Transfer and General Education Programs; Engineering, Public Service and Applied Technology Programs; and Health Programs.  An academic dean oversees and leads the division. Division chairs oversee the department chairs and/or program coordinators and report to the academic dean.  Department chairs and program coordinators are responsible for program/area coordination including curriculum development, delivery, review, and assessment.  The duties of the academic deans, division chairs, department chairs, and program coordinators are described in the FTCC  Organizational Handbook. 

The department chairs and program coordinators are responsible for monitoring day-to-day operations of the program/area and delivery of instruction. They also lead program/area strategic planning, coordinate the development of assessment plans, and make budget recommendations.  Additionally, department chairs and Program Coordinators are responsible for coordinating program advisory committees.

The academic administrators through the program coordinator level are qualified to hold their positions. 

Supporting Documentation

# Source Location
1 Four Divisions

2 Academic Deans

3 Division Chairs

4 Department Chairs

5 Program Coordinators

6 Strategic Planning

7 Assessment Plans

8 Program Advisory Committees

9 Qualified

◄  Previous  ı   Reports   ı Next  ►

Core Requirements
  | Comprehensive Standards  |  Federal Requirements

SACS Home 
|  Compliance Certification |  Document Directory  
© 2009 Fayetteville Technical Community College
2201 Hull Road, Fayetteville, NC 28303
 (910) 678.8400

Blackboard Login | Campus Events Calendar | Class Schedule | FTCC Directory | Security | Student Email | WebAdvisor | FTCC Home